Determination of the required secondary control reserve and minute reserve

All four German TSOs jointly estimate the secondary control reserve and minute reserve to be maintained for the entire German grid area. This involves a probability-based approach, verified by experts under orders of the Federal Network Agency. The results apply to the entire German control area.

Each quarter, the reserve size for the next quarter is estimated based on the four previous quarters. The following fundamental input values are taken into account.

  • Power plant failures: this value is based on the statistical blackout probability per type of power plant. Only those power stations with a capacity of 100 MW and higher are included.
  • Load fluctuation: the difference between the instantaneous load and feed-in values and their quarter-hourly averages is determined for a representative period at the end of every 2-year cycle and included in the subsequent reserve size calculations (dimensioning).
  • Schedule shifts: the cross-border schedules agreed between the four German control areas and other countries are taken into account, always using the four previous quarters' data to estimate the reserve size for the next quarter.
  • Forecast errors: the quarter-hourly average of the actual control reserve needed in the four German control areas is also used to determine the size of the reserve. This value is composed of the activated secondary control reserve and minute reserve, any necessary additional measures, the energy volumes exchanged within the IGCC framework and the residual balance deviation of the 4 German control areas, e.g. due to insufficient balancing power.

Details on the dimensioning process are available in the 2nd follow-up report on the level of balancing energy required in 2010, published on the Federal Network Agency's website:

Determination of the required primary control reserve

The primary control reserve (PCR) to be maintained under the German grid control cooperation is agreed annually between the transmission system operators (TSOs) of continental Europe. This is based on a total need of ±3000 MW PCR for the synchronous area, divided among the TSOs in proportion to the yearly feed-in.

Detailed information is available in Policy 1 of the ENTSO-E Operation Handbook of the Regional Group Central Europe.

Overview of the historical reasons for changes in the required control reserve as of 2012

Bestimmung des Bedarfs an Sekundärregelleistung und Minutenreserve

Die vorzuhaltende Sekundärregelleistung und Minutenreserve wird von allen vier deutschen ÜNB gemeinsam für das deutsche Netzgebiet dimensioniert. Verwendet wird ein wahrscheinlichkeitsbasierter Ansatz, der im Auftrag der BNetzA gutachterlich bestätigt wurde. Das Ergebnis entspricht der Dimensionierung für eine deutschlandweite Regelzone.

Die Dimensionierung erfolgt quartalsweise für das jeweils folgende Quartal auf Basis der vier zurückliegenden Quartale. Grundsätzlich werden die folgenden Eingangsgrößen berücksichtigt.

  • Kraftwerksausfälle: Basis bildet die statistische Ausfallwahrscheinlichkeit der einzelnen Kraftwerkstypen. Hierbei werden alle Kraftwerke mit einer Leistung ab 100 MW berücksichtigt.
  • Lastrauschen: Die Differenz zwischen den Momentanwerten von Last und Einspeisung und ihren 15-Minuten-Mittelwerten, wird zyklisch alle 2 Jahre für einen repräsentativen Zeitraum ermittelt und bei den folgenden Dimensionierungsrechnungen verwendet.
  • Fahrplansprünge: Es werden die grenzüberschreitenden Fahrpläne zwischen den vier deutschen Regelzonen und dem Ausland berücksichtigt, wobei stets die vier zurückliegenden Quartale in die Dimensionierung für das folgende Quartal verwendet werden.
  • Prognosefehler: In die Dimensionierung geht der Viertelstundenmittelwert des tatsächlichen Regelleistungsbedarfs der vier deutschen Regelzonen ein. Dieser setzt sich aus der aktivierten Sekundärregelleistung und Minutenreserve, etwaiger Zusatzmaßnahmen, ausgetauschten Energiemengen im Rahmen des IGCC, sowie der verbleibenden Bilanzabweichung der 4 deutschen Regelzonen beispielsweise aufgrund unzureichender Regelleistung zusammen.

Details zum Dimensionierungsverfahren können dem 2. Folgegutachten zur Höhe des Regelenergiebedarfes aus dem Jahr 2010 entnommen werden. Dieses ist auf der Homepage der Bundesnetzagentur veröffentlicht:

Bestimmung des Bedarfs an Primärregelleistung

Die im deutschen Netzregelverbund vorzuhaltende Primärregelleistung (PRL) wird jährlich in Abstimmung zwischen den kontinentaleuropäischen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern (ÜNB) bestimmt. Basis ist ein Gesamtbedarf des Synchrongebiets von ±3000MW PRL, der im Verhältnis der jährlichen Einspeisung auf die ÜNB aufgeteilt wird.

Details können der Policy 1 des ENTSO-E Operation Handbook der Regional Group Central Europe entnommen werden.