Grid Control Cooperation

The grid control cooperation (GCC) is an innovative network control concept, by means of which the four German transmission system operators (TSOs) optimise their control energy use and the control reserve provision technically and economically through an intelligent communication between the load-frequency controllers of the TSOs.

The horizontal structure of the control areas in the European interconnected system, offers the GCC the possibility to exploit synergies in terms of network control like in a single fictitious control area, without giving up the proven structure of control areas. It also enables a flexible response in case of network bottlenecks.

The functionality of the GCC is assured by four modules, each of which targets a different technical and economic optimisation:


Module 1: Prevent counteracting control reserve activation

It is a characteristic of the system that there are times when individual control areas have insufficient power, while other control areas have an excess of power at the same time. Without the GCC, the control reserve for each control area would be activated in line with the concept, independently and with different polarities. The objective of Module 1 is to avoid the activation of reverse control power through controlled and targeted energy exchange between the control areas. The potential for cost saving lies in the reduction of the reverse control reserve (secondary control reserve and minute reserve) and of the associated costs.


Module 2: Common dimensioning of control reserve

The objective of Module 2 is the joint dimensioning of control reserve across control areas in order to achieve a reduction of the power reserve and the corresponding costs (secondary control reserve and minute reserve). The dimensioning corresponds to a fictional German control area. The GCC gives the participating control areas access to the commonly held reserves, so that they can be reduced.


Module 3: Common procurement of secondary control reserve

Module 3 allows the German TSOs to purchase secondary control reserve from suppliers that are only connected to their Reserve Connecting TSO via telecontrol equipment. The potential for cost saving through the use of module 3 lies in the cost reduction through direct competition between providers in the entire German secondary control reserve market and in the reduction of the technical costs for providers.

For minute reserve (MR), the joint procurement has already been in place for a long time, as the activation requested by telephone does not require an online connection.


Module 4: Cost-optimised activation of control reserve

The control reserve is used cost-effectively throughout Germany on the basis of Germany-wide merit order lists for secondary control reserve and minute reserve. The aim of Module 4 is therefore the economic optimisation of the control reserve activation across control areas. Consequently, the potential cost saving lies in a cost reduction for control work.


Uniform balancing energy price (reBAP)

Another advantage of the GCC is the introduction of a uniform balancing energy price (reBAP) across control areas. In this way, the balancing group deviations in all German control areas are charged with the same balancing energy price.


System safety and congestion management

In the case of limited transmission capacity (network congestion), the secondary control reserve optimisation - and therefore the transmission of control reserves between the control areas - can be coordinated or restricted in real time according to the direction. In this case, diverging from the merit order list or not fully avoiding the reverse use of control reserve is consciously accepted.

Thus, the GCC allows the four German TSOs to use a uniform control reserve just like in a fictional single German control area. In this way, cost saving will be achieved, whenever physically possible, without jeopardising the grid security in the event of temporary power shortages, as the existing control area structure still exists. Moreover, the relevant control circuit within the control area remains unchanged, and is only expanded by a corrective activation. Thus, each control area is still preserved as a safety cell and can, to a certain extent, achieve balance autonomously, depending on the available control reserve within its control area.


Technical functioning

The technical principle of the grid control cooperation is based on a "secondary control reserve optimisation software", which calculates the best overall secondary control reserve use for the GCC. The basic principle is shown in the illustration

Because of prior unknown variations in consumption and production, the balance in a control area more or less continuously differs from the required power balance. The resulting balance difference must be compensated by activation of secondary control reserve. The need for secondary control reserve of the participating control areas is reported online to the coordinating optimisation module. This module calculates a correction value, which then rectifies the balance difference. Accordingly, a change is made in the input value of the secondary controller that retrieves the optimal, most cost-effective secondary control reserve amount from the GCC control areas, as calculated by the secondary control reserve optimising system. The corrective activation is calculated online with seconds as the unit of time.

International expansion of grid control cooperation

The German TSOs are striving for an international expansion of grid control cooperation. For information on the entries up to this point, click the following link (text in German).

Netzregelverbund

Der Netzregelverbund (NRV) ist ein innovatives Netzregelkonzept, mittels dessen die vier deutschen Übertragungsnetzbetreiber (ÜNB) ihren Regelenergieeinsatz sowie die Regelleistungsvorhaltung technisch und wirtschaftlich über eine intelligente Kommunikation zwischen den Leistungs-Frequenz-Reglern der ÜNB optimieren.

In der horizontalen Struktur der Regelzonen im europäischen Verbundsystem bietet der NRV damit die Möglichkeit, Synergien hinsichtlich der Netzregelung wie in einer einzelnen fiktiven Regelzone zu heben ohne die bewährte Regelzonenstruktur aufzugeben. Hierbei kann auch flexibel auf Netzengpässe reagiert werden.

Die Funktionalität des Netzregelverbunds wird über vier Module sichergestellt, welche jeweils unterschiedliche technische bzw. wirtschaftliche Optimierungen verfolgen:


Modul 1: Vermeidung gegenläufiger Regelleistungs-Aktivierung

Es ist systemimmanent, dass es Zeiten gibt, in denen einzelne Regelzonen einen Mangel an Leistung haben, während andere Regelzonen gleichzeitig einen Leistungsüberschuss aufweisen. Ohne den NRV würde die Regelleistung je Regelzone konzeptgemäß unabhängig voneinander mit unterschiedlichen Vorzeichen aktiviert. Das Ziel von Modul 1 ist die Vermeidung der gegenläufigen Aktivierung von Regelleistung durch kontrollierten und gezielten Energieaustausch zwischen den Regelzonen. Das Einsparpotential liegt in der Reduktion der gegenläufigen Regelleistungsarbeit (SRL und MRL) und den damit verbundenen Kosten.


Modul 2: Gemeinsame Regelleistungs-Dimensionierung

Das Ziel von Modul 2 ist die gemeinsame, regelzonenübergreifende Dimensionierung der Regelleistung und damit die Reduktion der vorzuhaltenden Leistung sowie der entsprechenden Kosten (SRL und MRL). Die Dimensionierung ist identisch zu einer fiktiven deutschen Regelzone. Der NRV erlaubt es den teilnehmenden Regelzonen auf die gemeinschaftlich vorgehaltenen Reserven Zugriff zu haben, wodurch diese verringert werden können.


Modul 3: Gemeinsame SRL-Beschaffung

Modul 3 ermöglicht den deutschen ÜNB Sekundärregelleistung (SRL) von Anbietern zu beziehen, die lediglich zu ihrem Anschluss-ÜNB eine fernwirktechnische Verbindung betreiben. Das Einsparpotential bei Modul 3 liegt in der Kostenreduktion durch direkten Wettbewerb der Anbieter in einem gesamtdeutschen Sekundärregelleistungsmarkt sowie in der Reduzierung des technischen Aufwands für die Anbieter.

Die MRL-Beschaffung erfolgt seit 2006 für alle ÜNB gemeinsam über die Internet-Plattform (www.regelleistung.net). Seit 2012 wird MRL über eine gemeinsame Merit-Order-List mittels des MOLS abgerufen. Dies ist ein elektronisches Abrufverfahren.


Modul 4: Kostenoptimale Regelleistungs-Aktivierung

Der Regelleistungseinsatz erfolgt kostenoptimal für ganz Deutschland unter Verwendung von deutschlandweiten Merit-Order-Listen für SRL und MRL. Ziel von Modul 4 ist damit die regelzonenübergreifende wirtschaftliche Optimierung der Regelleistungs-Aktivierung. Das Einsparpotential liegt somit in der Reduktion der Kosten für Regelarbeit.


Einheitlicher Bilanzausgleichsenergiepreis (reBAP)

Ein weiterer Vorteil des NRV ist die Einführung des regelzonenübergreifenden einheitlichen Bilanzausgleichsenergiepreises (reBAP). Damit werden die Bilanzkreisabweichungen in allen deutschen Regelzonen mit demselben Ausgleichsenergiepreis abgerechnet.


Systemsicherheit und Engpassmanagement

Im Falle von begrenzten Übertragungskapazitäten (Netzengpässen) kann die SRL-Optimierung - und damit der physikalische Regelleistungstransport zwischen den Regelzonen - in Echtzeit und richtungsabhängig koordiniert bzw. eingeschränkt werden. In diesem Fall wird ein Abweichen von der Merit-Order-Liste oder ein nicht vollständiges Vermeiden eines gegenläufigen Regelleistungseinsatzes bewusst in Kauf genommen.

Der NRV erlaubt den vier deutschen ÜNB somit einen Regelleistungseinsatz identisch zu einer einzigen fiktiven deutschen Regelzone. Kosteneinsparungen werden dadurch, wenn immer physikalisch möglich, genutzt ohne im Falle von temporären Netzengpässen die Netzsicherheit zu gefährden, da hierfür die bisherige Regelzonenstruktur weiter zur Verfügung steht. Dazu bleibt der jeweilige Regelkreis innerhalb der Regelzonen unverändert bestehen; dieser wird lediglich um eine Korrekturaufschaltung erweitert. Somit bleibt jede Regelzone nach wie vor als Sicherheitszelle erhalten und kann sich abhängig von den in der eigenen Regelzone verfügbaren Regelleistungsangeboten im gewissen Umfang auch autark ausregeln.


Technische Funktionsweise

Das technische Grundprinzip des Netzregelverbunds basiert auf einer "SRL-Optimierungs-Software", die den optimalen SRL-Gesamteinsatz für den NRV berechnet. Das Grundprinzip ist in der Abbildung dargestellt.

Aufgrund von a priori unbekannten Schwankungen in Verbrauch und Erzeugung weicht die Leistungsbilanz einer Regelzone fortlaufend mehr oder weniger vom geforderten Leistungsgleichgewicht ab. Der resultierende Bilanzfehler muss durch Aktivierung von SRL ausgeglichen werden. Der SRL-Bedarf der teilnehmenden Regelzonen wird dem koordinierenden Optimierungsbaustein online gemeldet. Dieser berechnet einen Korrekturwert, der wiederum auf den Leistungsbilanzfehler wirkt. Entsprechend ändert sich die Eingangsgröße des Sekundärreglers, der im Ergebnis die vom SRL-Optimierungssystem als optimal berechnete SRL-Menge kostenoptimal aus den NRV-Regelzonen abruft. Die Korrekturaufschaltung berechnet sich dabei online in sekündlicher Auflösung.

Internationale Erweiterung des Netzregelverbundes

Die deutschen Übertragungsnetzbetreiber streben eine internationale Erweiterung des Netzregelverbundes an. Informationen über die bisherigen Beitritte finden Sie unter folgendem Link.